1967 Year in Review

“Mr. Lightning” Newt Palm won his first Modified Championship in 1967

Newt Palm had a dominate year in his first full season driving the L&M car built & owned by Stanley “Stosh” Miezejski & Stan Lascowski. Palm started the season with 3 straight victories, and 4 out of the first 5. He also won a 50 lapper and two 75 lappers. By season’s end, he had 10 victories and earned the Track Championship over 8-time winner & defending Champion Charlie Webster. Webster won 5 out of the last 8 races, but had to settle for runner-up. Billy Scrivener won a 50 lapper in May and Dick Dunn, who was injured in his shop early in the year (and missed most of the season), returned late in the year and won the Oilzum Trophy 50 lapper on September 30th.

4-time winner Bill Sweet, driving the #81 car, beat out 6-time winner Jiggs Beetham to capture the Daredevil Championship. Red Barton and Butch Reed won 5 features each. These 4 drivers each won 1 of the 4 extra-distance events during the year. There were 9 different winners during the year.

‘The Norwalk Night Rider’ Bill Sweet was the 1967 Daredevil Champion

There were no touring divisions or open competition events at the Speedbowl this season. Katherine DeLong won the Powder Puff Derby in July. There were several Demolition Derbies held, winners included Bill Sweet and Ed Yerrington, the future NASCAR competitor who would return to the Speedbowl as General Manager in the 1980’s when the Arute family from Stafford Speedway operated the Speedbowl.

There was sad news on December 7, 1967 when Speedbowl president Anthony Albino died at the age of 60. He was the last original member of Waterford Speedbowl, Inc. to still be an active owner/operator. His son Robert Albino would take over as Speedbowl president and majority owner.