You are here
Home > Almanac > 1990's > 1996 Awards & Honors

1996 Awards & Honors

Speedbowl Banquet Awards

Saturday November 8, 1996
Ocean Beach Park – New London, CT
 TRACK CHAMPION   Jimmy Broderick  3  John Brouwer Jr  39  Allen Coates  90  Dan Darnstaedt  53  
ROOKIE OF THE YEAR    John Brouwer Jr  716  Ed Reed Jr  27  Ed Puleo  7  Jimmy Pont  61  
 PIT CREW OF THE YEAR    Dennis Gada  88  Phil Rondeau  19  Scott Cook  1  Bruce Thomas  34  presented by Ayerodynamic Performance
 SPORTSMAN OF THE YEAR    Eric Berndt  54  Jeff Karns  68  Jeff ‘Soup’ Civardi  39  Rob Oloski  49  
 MOST IMPROVED DRIVER    Scott Spaulding  47  Rob Janovic Jr  51  Jeff Cook  63  Luke Tussing  13  
 BEST APPEARING CAR    Tucker Reynolds Jr  34  Jeff Karns  68  Eric Edgerley  65  Rob Oloski  49  
Speedbowl Dedication Award  Beth Morley – official track scorer            
              Special Recognition Award  Bill Toscano – New London Day sportswriter

Regional Awards

INEX Legend Cars Semi-Pro Asphalt National Champion   Joe Bates              
INEX Legend Cars Pro New England Region Champion   Jags Palmer       
INEX Legend Cars Masters New England Region Champion   Frank Manafort           

National Awards

INEX Legend Cars Semi-Pro Asphalt National Champion   Joe Bates                         
INEX Legend Cars Pro Asphalt National Champion   Danny McNamara 
INEX Legend Cars Masters Asphalt National Champion   Frank Manafort              

Speedbowl Banquet Photos

1996 Track Champions John Brouwer Jr (top) and Jimmy Broderick during a group photo at the annual awards banquet (Brouwer photo)





Similar Articles